Can You Say “Opportunist,” Boys and Girls?

Tonight Barack Obama said, “On my first night campaigning in Michigan, I’m not going to do the same old thing. I’m going to do something different. I’m going to introduce you to one of the greatest leaders in the Democratic party, Mr. John Edwards.” 

Signs saying “Change” are everywhere. It’s clear the running mate is being selected. 

Oh, my God. When did Hillary Clinton become “the same old thing”? When did John Edwards become “change”? Hasn’t he already been the losing running mate before? I’m pretty sure that’s the very definition of the same old thing. 

Oh, my God again. Not only did Edwards step on the heels of Hillary’s victory in West Virginia and her recommitment to not being a quitter, he let Obama use his ill wife as a symbol for universal health care. Something Hillary tried to do 15 years ago. Hillary’s health care policy is more universal than Obama’s, and Obama is exploiting a woman with breast cancer. And her husband is letting him do it. 

(written live while watching Obama’s speech accepting Edwards’ endorsement on CNN)

Leave a comment

Filed under CNN, religion 'n' politics

Leave a comment