Eighth Recital Down

Three people came: My husband, mother-in-law, and therapist. (Yes, we all sat in the same row.) 

I was the best vocally I’ve been so far, and the least anxious. In fact, I barely shook at all. I thought there was something wrong because I wasn’t scared enough. Did that mean I was going to totally screw up? In the end, I realized that I was over-analyzing, and decided to just enjoy the feeling of performing while calm. Everybody sounded better than ever, in fact. This is the first recital I’ve witnessed that I think could have been on TV or some sort of public venue. In fact, it’s a shame that it wasn’t. 

My intro patter and acting were the actually the weakest ever. I’ve always used those things to win the audience over to my side and compensate for my poor singing. This time, I knew my singing would be on target, I didn’t feel that desperate need to overcompensate, and so what did I do? I became completely lazy about preparing my patter and adding any gestures to my pieces. Jeez. (Although that trombone move on “By Strauss” was a nice touch, I thought.)

I feel self-conscious about that lack in my performance, so lesson learned. Next time, I work on the whole package. 

Now the fun begins: Planning the next recital. But more on that later. For now, I’ll leave you with my current favorite commercial. If my coach would let me sing “boom-dee-yada” at the next recital, I would.

2 Comments

Filed under geek, music, recitals

2 responses to “Eighth Recital Down

  1. WTT

    Allo —
    Perhaps you could secretly rehearse it, and use it as a surprise encore….
    I love the fact that they gave dear Dr. Hawking his own “boom-de-ya-da”….
    Regards,
    WTT

  2. thewalkingwoman

    Salut! I like your idea of the surprise encore! LOL!

    I agree with you about Dr. Hawking. Very heartwarming to see him participate in this video.

Leave a Reply

