Twitter vs. Facebook

Since I’ve become more active on Twitter lately, I’ve been getting more visitors to this blog, which I’ve shamefully failed to update since 2008. To be honest, I’ve been expressing myself mostly on Facebook and been happy with that. But if you’re here because you clicked the link in my Twitter profile, maybe you can speak to some of the following:

1. When I send people a friend request on Facebook, they almost always accept my friendship, even if they are more important/famous/talented than I am, which is pretty nice considering Facebook’s 5000-friend limit. When I follow someone on Twitter, they almost never follow me back, even though there’s no limit on the number of people you can follow.

2. When I post an update on Facebook, a few people usually “Like” it, including people I don’t know very well. When I directly tweet someone on Twitter, they almost never tweet back, even when I do something like send a helpful link or offer a free book.

3. People who send me friend requests on Facebook are usually people who have some sort of connection to me. Most people who follow me on Twitter want to market something to me.

What does all this mean?

(a) Twitter’s service is set up for broadcasting, not interactivity. Understandably, on Twitter people are less likely to be reciprocal or interactive than on Facebook, which facilitates relationship and interaction.

(b) My Facebook friends are just humoring me, and Twitter is a more honest reflection of how few people truly like me.

(c) People who favor Twitter are bigger jerks than people who favor Facebook.

Comments welcome.

6 Comments

Filed under social media

6 responses to “Twitter vs. Facebook

  1. It’s not about liking! A lot of people still don’t know how to use Twitter properly (whatever that means).

    I follow people in my fields of interest, including writing, and I re-tweet what I find to be interesting.

    I have also linked my Twitter account to my Facebook account, so that whatever I tweet on Twitter is posted on Facebook.

  2. Scott

    A & C 😉 Same experience here. If you’re looking to market yourself or schmooze, write lots of “Tweets” starting with “Awesome!”, “Exciting!”, or “FTW!” then add in a link. However, if you’re REALLY looking to help people, omit the commentary and just provide the helpful link, or introduce it.

    However, if you’re looking to “schmooze”, by all means, try something like this:
    “AWESOME! Check out my friend’s blog! It’s EXCITING! FTW! https://nanbarber.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/twitter-vs-facebook/” ;-D
    Keep up the good work, Nan! 😉

  3. Hi Nan,
    I now ‘protect’ my tweets this means that I have to approve my followers, it also means I get less spam followers. Mention the word Diet in a tweet and you can normally expect to get two or three new followers all representing weight watching companies of one type or another. I don’t get this any more, and it gives me more freedom to interact with people.

    I’ve tailored the people I follow down to a group of people I know or I have spoken to, this way we do have a lot more interaction. I know that I can throw out a question and get a response back normally.

    With Facebook, I have customised the privacy down quite tightly, so if you aren’t on my friends list then you aren’t going to see a great deal about me, you aren’t going to be able to find me either unless you are a friend of a friend. Again far less random friend requests.

    I suspect I use Facebook and Twitter in very different ways. But you are right to sit back and take stock of how they encroach in to your life.

    Look forward to some more posts….

  4. thewalkingwoman

    Thanks for you comments, everybody, and thanks for following me here! Wow!

  5. RowGirl

    Interesting perspective. I use FB and Twitter for very different purposes. Facebook(for me) is to connect personally with people I actually know in real life. I use Twitter to send and received information – I have never bought into the whole “follow for a follow” thing. I tend to send out lots of links each day and rarely get a “thank you.” Likewise,, I notice that if I reply to someone else’s link, no one but me has usually thanked that person either. I guess it is just that anonymity of the web…information is moving so fast! Do not get discouraged.

  6. thewalkingwoman

    Thanks, RowGirl!

Leave a Reply

